Friday 27th November at 8.30pm (AEDT)

ANAM – Beethoven, Reich and Dahl

Join our future music leaders from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) as they come together to perform a selection of chamber works for brass, percussion and winds.

ANAM percussionists kick off the concert with the minimalist and hypnotic Pieces for Wood by Steve Reich. This is followed by Dahl’s Music for Brass Instruments which draws on American folk dance rhythms and elements of jazz. The concert concludes with Beethoven’s Sextet for Winds, praised at the time of its premiere as “a composition which shines resplendent by reason of its lively melodies, unconstrained harmonies, and a wealth of new and surprising ideas”.


Reich – Music for Pieces of Wood
Peter Neville – ANAM Head of Percussion
John Arcaro – ANAM Percussion Faculty
Alexander Meagher – Percussion
Alison Fane – Percussion
Nathan Gatenby – Percussion

Dahl – Music for Brass Instruments
Sophie Spencer – Trumpet
Christopher Grace – Trumpet
Josiah Kop – Horn
Stuart Brennan – Trombone (guest)
James Littlewood – Bass trombone
Sean Burke – Tuba

Beethoven – Sextet for Winds
Cameron Smith – Clarinet
Jarrad Linke – Clarinet
Jye Todorov – Bassoon
Thomas St John – Bassoon
Josiah Kop – Horn
Rachel Shaw – Horn (guest)

Haydn – String Quartet No. 49
Rathdowne Quartet:
Harry Ward – Violin
Kyla Matsuura-Miller – Violin, alumnus
Molly Collier-O’Boyle – Viola, alumnus
James Morley – Cello


Reich – Music for Pieces of Wood
Dahl – Music for Brass Instruments
Beethoven – Sextet for Winds Op. 71
Haydn – String Quartet No. 49 in B minor Op. 64 No. 2

Friday 27th November at 8.30pm (AEDT)

60 minutes