Thursday 30th July at 8.30pm (AEST)

The arrangement of concerto works for smaller forces was not uncommon in the Classical Era, allowing the bourgeoisie to enjoy fine music at home. Stefan Cassomenos joins musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra for a superb arrangement of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4 that circulated in the composer’s lifetime, with Mozart’s charming first ‘Salzburg Symphony’, written when he was just 15 years old.


Stefan Cassomenos – Piano

Musicians of Melbourne Chamber Orchestra:

William Hennessy – Violin I
Natalia Harvey – Violin II
Merewyn Bramble – Viola I
Katharine Brockman – Viola II
Michael Dahlenburg – Cello
Emma Sullivan – Double Bass


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Divertimento in D major K136 Salzburg Symphony No 1

Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No 4 in G major Op 58 arranged for piano and string chamber group

Thursday 30th July at 8.30pm (AEST)

60 minutes