Thursday 20th August at 7pm (AEST)

Mimir Chamber Music Festival – Concert Three – RHAPSODY

Praised by Gramophone for his ‘captivating sensitivity’, cellist Richard Narroway raises the curtain with his exquisite arrangement of Waltzing Matilda. Shifting gears in Bartok’s spirited Rhapsody, Narroway passes the baton to Wenhong Luo, further amplifying the excitement in an ecstatic Bach/Kodály viola solo. Beethoven’s C minor String Trio concludes the concert con spirito – a bold and youthful celebration of the composer in this, his 250th birthday year.


Richard Narroway – Cello
Benjamin Martin – Piano
Wenhong Luo – Viola
Sophia Kirsanova – Violin


Traditional/Narroway – Variations on ‘Waltzing Matilda’

Richard Narroway – cello

Bartók – Rhapsody No. 1 for Cello and Piano, Sz.88

  1. Lassú: Moderato
  2. Friss: Allegro moderato

Richard Narroway – cello
Benjamin Martin – piano

J.S. Bach (arr. Z. Kodály) – Chromatic Fantasy, BWV 903

 Wenhong Luo – viola

Ludwig van Beethoven – String Trio in C minor Op. 9  No. 3

  1. Allegro con spirito
  2. Adagio con espressione
  3. Scherzo: Allegro molto e vivace
  4. Finale: Presto

Sophia Kirsanova – violin
Wenhong Luo – viola
Richard Narroway – cello

Thursday 20th August at 7pm (AEST)

60 minutes